Badminton Forums  

Go Back   Badminton Forums > General > Rules and Officiating

Notices

Rules and Officiating Unsure about a particular rule? Discuss the Laws of Badminton here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-02-2013
chai9183 chai9183 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: kajang
Posts: 2
Default the "service over" rule

The present 21 point, winner of previous rally keeps the right to serve ruling is meaningless.
Reasons:
(1) Unlike tennis or table-tennis, the player who serves (in badminton) has no advantage at all!
(2) Therefore the "right to serve" is not something to fight for.
(3) Therefore there's no point tossing a coin to decide who serves first, might as well the player on whose court the shuttle-cork landed be the one who serves!
(4) The old ruling with "service over" gives the side that serves an advantage, that is - a chance to score a point!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2017
arieliza arieliza is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: US
Posts: 23
Default

Always remember that a badminton game starts from your right hand side. I’ll give you an example.

Both pairs have decided that you and your partner starts the game. You and partner decided that you deliver the first serve. The score is 0-0.

Since 0 is an even number, you will serve from the RIGHT side of the
court.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:37 PM.


vBulletin® v3.8.4, Copyright ©2000-2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © 2006-2012 BadmintonForums.com, a Merendi Networks Inc. project.